Bootleg Review Page

AUDIO BOOTLEGS


NOVEMBER 14TH, 1977 - AGORA BALLROOM, CLEVELAND, OHIO, USA (ORIGINAL VERSION)








1. Great Boleros Of Fire 

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Band Introductions

5. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

6. River Deep, Mountain High (Tina Turner Cover)

7. More Than You Deserve

8. Paradise By The Dashboard Light


Audio - 7/10

Performance - 8/10


This is the earliest surfaced recording of a Meat Loaf show, however not the earliest recording, the day before on November 13th a show was recorded and broadcast on air. Meat's vocals are on top form here, not as good as some of the other bootlegs from this show, but still damn fine, the band plays quite well, although Karla's performance isn't as good as the other shows. Joe Stefko is on fire as usual, and Jim Steinman is playing brilliantly. There's a rare performance of More Than You Deserve, only on one other bootleg from this tour, but with Steinman on vocals rather than Meat. This is an awesome glimpse into the early days of the Bat Out Of Hell tour, and the show takes place not even a month after it was first released in the USA. All in all, a great bootleg and a historically cool one as well, unfortunately it suffers from thick and sludgy audio quality, potentially the result of a bad vinyl press, or a bad rip, or maybe the radio broadcast from which it was pressed wasn't recorded all too well. There are some copies with Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad, but I don't know if they're legitimate, and I've not been able to get my hands on one of them. This one gets a golden 4.


NOVEMBER 14TH, 1977 - AGORA BALLROOM, CLEVELAND, OHIO, USA (FIRST REMASTERED VERSION)









1. Great Boleros Of Fire

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. Hot Summer Night

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

5. More Than You Deserve

6. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

7. Band Introductions

8. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

9. River Deep, Mountain High


Audio - 8.5/10

Performance - 8.5/10


Finally, a remaster. This awesome job was done by my good friend Sina. And what a remaster it is, it’s still not perfect audio but it’s definitely an improvement, moving it up 1.5 stars on the audio rating! Somehow, you can now hear Paul Glanz very clearly, whereas in the original version of this bootleg he was masked behind the other instruments. The performances actually go up, because you can hear more of them, and they sound better. So, the performances are brilliant, the audio is awesome, and it has all the qualities of the original bootleg, enhanced! What else can I give this, 5 out of 5!


NOVEMBER 14TH, 1977 - AGORA BALLROOM, CLEVELAND, OHIO, USA (2020 VINYL RIP)









1. Great Boleros Of Fire

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. Hot Summer Night

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

5. More Than You Deserve

6. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

7. Band Introductions

8. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

9. River Deep, Mountain High

10. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad (Live At The Bottom Line) (Bonus Track)

11. All Revved Up (Reprise) (Live At The Bottom Line) (Bonus Track)

12. For Crying Out Loud (Live At The Bottom Line) (Bonus Track)


Audio - 7.5/10

Performance - 8/10


The last vinyl rip of this is from about 2009, it was due a redo. The actual sound isn't improved much but the quality is substantially better, which actually makes the audio go up. Same show so still amazing! It has been remastered so... 4 out of 5!


NOVEMBER 14TH, 1977 - AGORA BALLROOM, CLEVELAND, OHIO, USA (2020 VINYL RIP REMASTER)










1. Great Boleros Of Fire

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. Hot Summer Night

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

5. More Than You Deserve

6. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

7. Band Introductions

8. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

9. River Deep, Mountain High


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 8.5/10


Sina strikes again! This remaster of the improved rip is the best way to listen to his opeth of a show. The audio is great, the performance is STILL incredible. Sina's efforts put the audio up to a 9, making this one of the better bootlegs out there of Meat and the band! Do yourself a favour and download this gem right here > :). 5 out of 5!


NOVEMBER 28TH, 1977 - THE BOTTOM LINE, NEW YORK, NY, USA

THE EARLY SHOW:








1. Great Boleros Of Fire - Bat Out Of Hell

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. For Crying Out Loud

4. The Blood - All Revved Up With No Place To Go

5. River Deep, Mountain High (Tina Turner Cover)

6. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad - All Revved Up (Reprise)


On November 27th, 1977 and November 28th Meat Loaf played The Bottom Line, 1 show on day one and 2 shows on day two, only the shows from day two have surfaced, and have beautifully been touched up and remastered. This is the early show.


Audio - 10/10

Performance - 8.5/10


This show has always felt a bit underwhelming to me, the audio quality is incredible, but the band isn't too tight here, this early show feels more like a warm up than a proper show to me, the setlist really isn't too much to write home about either, only 7 full songs, and no Paradise! However, there is a rare performance of For Crying Out Loud which wasn't performed too often on this tour. It also features the entertaining "The Blood", a spoken word by Meat just before All Revved Up. The vocal performance could be better, and the band isn't on top notch here, and the second show is considerably better so due to the lacking performance and set, but the incredible quality, this personally gets 4 out of 5 from me.


THE LATE SHOW:








1. Great Boleros Of Fire - Bat Out Of Hell

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. For Crying Out Loud

4. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

5. Band Introductions

6. Wasted Youth (Shortened) - The Blood - All Revved Up With No Place To Go

7. Meat Loaf Banter 1

8. River Deep, Mountain High (Tina Turner Cover)

9. Meat Loaf Banter 2

10. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad - All Revved Up (Reprise)


Audio - 10/10

Performance - 10/10


Now this is what I'm talking about! The late show from November 28th, 1977 is one of (in my opinion) the greatest Meat Loaf recordings of all time! Meat is vocally incredible here, flawlessly busting out all of his songs at full pelt! The band are absorbing the energy off Meat and playing brilliantly, except some slip ups from Karla, this concert is the perfect Bat Out Of Hell Tour show. The audio is the best yet, this is a remaster of the original broadcast, minus all the broadcast talk, and it is perfect! Much better than the previously available version. The setlist if way better than the early show, with the first recording of Wasted Youth (Love And Death Of An American Guitar at the time). It also again features For Crying Out Loud, and a damn good version of it. 5 out of 5 all the way!


THE RE-BROADCASTING / VINYL:








1. Radio Introduction

2. Great Boleros Of Fire

3. Bat Out Of Hell

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

5. For Crying Out Loud

6. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

7. Band Introductions

8. Wasted Youth (Shortened)

9. All Revved Up With No Place To Go


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 9/10 


This is a December 1977 re-broadcasting of the show, both shows, it's a compilation of sorts featuring certain parts from the Early Show, and certain parts from the Late Show. It doesn't sound as good as the original broadcasts, but the remaster I have does sound very good. The performances are sometimes brilliant and sometimes not, as I said it's a compilation, so overall the performance is a 9, 8.5 for Early, 9.5 for late, the audio is a 9 so overall I'd give this a fair 4 out of 5.


If you just want to have a bit of both shows on a CD, this is a great option. This concert gets released every year under several names, but my one is a FLAC rip of the original vinyl with some remaster work done to it. This is sometimes called "Bat On The Road Live 1977" or "The Classic NYC Broadcast", but it's really just this compilation. Also, some lists put this concert as December 21st, 1977, it isn't, its November 28th, 1977.


NOVEMBER 29TH, 1977 - MY FATHER’S PLACE, OLD ROSLYN, NEW JERSEY, USA








1. Concert Introduction - Bat Out Of Hell

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

4. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

5. All Revved Up With No Place To Go


Audio - 10/10

Performance - 10/10


This is a very famous Meat Loaf bootleg, and was my second ever Meat Loaf bootleg, with Wisconsin 1990 being my first. Some versions of this bootleg have the 6 second Concert Intro and Bat as separate tracks. Meat's vocals are completely flawless here, the band plays perfectly, the audio is stunning as this is the Pre-FM version, you'd think it'd be the perfect bootleg, but it has one major setback. It's 41 minutes long, the concert was much longer, they performed Bolero, River Deep, and Crying Out Loud but unfortunately these have yet to surface. In some versions you can even here Meat announcing the song For Crying Out Loud at the end of All Revved Up. This bootleg was originally released in 1978 as a vinyl called "Live", not to be confused by the 1987 vinyl of the same name. This would get 5 out of 5 if it had just one more song, but the length is the big issue here, so sadly it only gets 4 out of 5, I really hope the rest of this surfaces.


DECEMBER 23RD, 1977 - THE OLD WALDORF, SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA, USA








1. Great Boleros Of Fire

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

4. For Crying Out Loud

5. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

6. Band Introductions

7. Wasted Youth

8. The Blood

9. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

10. River Deep, Mountain High (Tina Turner Cover)

11. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad - All Revved Up (Reprise)


Audio - 8/10

Performance - 9.5/10


On December 22nd and 23rd Meat Loaf played the Old Waldorf in San Francisco. The second night was broadcast on radio, and over the years resurfaced in terrible quality, the sound was very hissy, the pitch and speed were all wrong, luckily, I speed corrected and remastered it all and it's sounding lovely. The band are playing very well here, which is to be expected of a 1977 bootleg. Meat sounds wonderful here and we have a performance of For Crying Out Loud which automatically makes this awesome! All in all this bootleg gets a well-deserved 4 out of 5, it's great!


JANUARY 18TH, 1978 - EL MOCAMBO, TORONTO, CANADA








1. Great Boleros Of Fire

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

4. For Crying Out Loud

5. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

6. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

7. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad - All Revved Up (Reprise)

8. River Deep, Mountain High (Tina Turner Cover)


Audio - 9.5/10

Performance - 9.5/10


Here's another popular Meat Loaf bootleg, usually paired with London 1978 (Hammersmith Odeon) but this is the separated version, ripped from the original vinyl (seen above, with added track listing). This concert was recorded as a radio promo on Meat's 1978 stop in Canada, this was his second concert at the El Mocambo, and is one of the best performances from the whole tour and probably the best from the 1978 part of the tour. Meat is absolutely brilliant here, not as great as My Father's Place or Late at The Bottom Line, but still very good, this version here of For Crying Out Loud could be the greatest performance of it ever, and is just 2 months before they stopped performing it until 1993 (where it was performed at a rehearsal). The audio is nearly perfect here, could be better, a lot of click issues, the band are great but could be better and overall, its fucking awesome! This is definitely brilliant, 5 out of 5!


APRIL 19TH, 1978 - CLEVELAND MUSIC HALL, CLEVELAND, OHIO, USA

FM VERSION:








1. Great Boleros Of Fire

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. For Crying Out Loud

5. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

6. Band Introductions

7. Wasted Youth - FX Intro

8. The Blood - All Revved Up With No Place To Go

9. River Deep, Mountain High (Tina Turner Cover)

10. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad - All Revved Up (Reprise)

11. Hammerdown


Audio - 5/10

Performance - 9/10


This is an interesting bootleg, Meat Loaf performed at Cleveland Music Hall on April 21st, 1978, there are 2 versions, the FM broadcast and the re-release. This is the original broadcast, unfortunately the FM rip is in pretty bad, the quality is not too enjoyable. It is listenable but not by a whole lot. The band is on absolute top form, and the amazing Todd Rundgren is on Lead Guitar in the whole concert, with some special FX before The Blood, during Hammerdown the line-up changes with Ted Nugent, Max Weinberg and Roy Bittan joining in, making this a truly special concert. Due to the awesome rendition of Hammerdown, the performance of For Crying Out Loud and the line-up, this concert would get a 5 out of 5, but the audio sets it back to 4 out of 5.


CD RELEASE:













1. Great Boleros Of Fire / Bat Out Of Hell

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. The Blood - All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

5. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad - All Revved Up (Reprise)

6. River Deep, Mountain High (Tina Turner Cover)


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 9/10


This is the good quality version, the sound is a bit dry but overall, really good, if it was the entire show it'd be incredible but sadly it's only 7 full songs. My opinion is the same as the version above, but the audio is far superior. If it was the whole show it'd be an easy 5 out of 5, but due to the cut show, it's a 4 out of 5 for me.


JUNE 6TH, 1978 - HAMMERSMITH ODEON, LONDON, ENGLAND, UK

THE BBC SHORT VERSION:









1. BBC Introduction

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Wasted Youth

5. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

6. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad - All Revved Up (Reprise)

7. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

8. Johnny B. Goode (Chuck Berry Cover)

9. River Deep, Mountain High (Tina Turner Cover)


Audio - 8/10

Performance - 8/10


This is the worst version of this bootleg, it's still great, but not as good as the Best Source or Long versions. This is the BBC Rock Hour 1978 Broadcast of the show, it includes Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad, which is exclusive to this bootleg, but unfortunately it only features the shortened version of Paradise By The Dashboard Light. On to the performance, it's great! Meat is on good form here, not as good as the rest of the tour as he was 7 months into the tour, his voice was beginning to feel the effect of touring for the first time, the vocals are still classic Meat Loaf! The band is playing better than ever, probably the best they ever played on this tour (at least of what we have on record). It's a good bootleg, but not the best version of this show, and due to the tinny thin sound which is nowhere as good as the Long Version drops it down. 4 out of 5.


THE LONG VERSION:









1. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (without Intro)

2. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (with Hot Summer Night)

4. River Deep, Mountain High (Tina Turner Cover)

5. Johnny B. Goode (Chuck Berry Cover)

6. Bat Out Of Hell

7. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (with Hot Summer Night)

8. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (with Intro)

9. Wasted Youth


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 8/10

This is the long version, the best common version, I have 2 copies of the long version, a high-quality FLAC rip of the bootleg, and my own FLAC CD rip, both covers are featured, the first being designed by me. The performance is the same as the bootleg above, but the audio is significantly better, it's still not perfect but gets a solid 9/10. As stated, Meat is beginning to suffer from vocal issues here, but the performance overall is solid! This is much better than the short version and includes the full awesome jam before Paradise, as well as a few other goodies. I give this a 4 out of 5, due to the fact that the Best Source Mix is better.


THE BEST SOURCE MIX:









1. Bat Out Of Hell

2. Hot Summer Night 

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

4. Wasted Youth

5. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Jam / Introduction)

6. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Main Song)

7. Johnny B. Goode

8. River Deep, Mountain High

9. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

10. All Revved Up (Reprise)


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 8/10


I made 2 sources of this, the 1st primarily using the BBC version, and it sounded awful, so I got rid of it and made a better version. It combines the best quality versions of each track to make a complete concert with all the songs (minus Bolero, as no recording has surfaced), and has the best flow of all the bootlegs, as it's in order. The performances are obviously great, as previously discussed in the other 2 versions, and the audio is mostly from the long version, so it gets the same rating. This bootleg in my opinion is the best version of this show, it's not Meat's best show from this tour, but it's a very nice show in terms of length and performance, it just hits 5 out of 5.


JUNE 11TH, 1978 - STADTHALLE, OFFENBACH, GERMANY








CD 1:

1. Great Boleros Of Fire

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. Hot Summer Night

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

5. Wasted Youth

6. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

7. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Jam / Introduction)

8. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Main Song)


CD 2:

1. Band Introductions

2. Johnny B. Goode

3. River Deep, Mountain High

4. Johnny B. Goode (Reprise)

5. Play With Audience

6. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

7. All Revved Up (Reprise)


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 8.5/10


This bootleg circulated among fans for years before getting an official release in 2009, they should have released May 26th, 1978 at Capitol Theater, it’s black and white footage but it has better audio, sadly only a minute of it has been seen so far. Back on track, this is a really nice show, it’s from the start of the European leg, which means a jam at the start of Paradise, oh yeah! Jim Steinman really shines here, as he is really high in the mix, sadly Bruce Kulick is almost completely mixed out, but as a big Bob Kulick fan, it’s nice to get to hear his rhythm, this was before he was on lead guitar. Meat sounds great here, better than Hammersmith, he’s not straining as much, and the band are awesome, Joe Stefko also really stands out, especially with his drum solo before Paradise. The audio could be better in terms of the mix, but the actual quality is fine, no complaints. Due to the strong performances, the rare reprise of Johnny B. Goode, and the extended Paradise intro, I have no choice, but to give this the golden score! 5 out of 5.


SEPTEMBER 1ST, 1978 - NASSAU COLISEUM, UNIONDALE, NY, USA









1. Great Boleros Of Fire

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

4. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

5. Nocturnal Pleasure - Heaven Can Wait

6. Paradise By The Dashboard Light - Talk With Audience

7. More Than You Deserve (Jim Steinman Vocals)

8. Just One Victory (Todd Rundgren Guitar)

9. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad - All Revved Up (Reprise)


Audio - 8.5/10

Performance - 5/10


This is a very interesting bootleg. It’s one of the most popular Meat Loaf bootlegs due to it having a common CD release all the way back in 1994, before bootleg trading online was a thing. This bootleg alone gives the whole Bat Out Of Hell tour a bad reputation. Meat just isn’t doing good here, he was heavily drinking by this point, to numb the pain of touring, it was starting to take a really bad effect on him both physically and psychologically, which can really be seen here. Meat sounds very hoarse and tired, often out of breath, it’s still great in general, but for this tour it really isn’t the best, and can you blame the poor guy? Touring like this for almost a year at this point can’t be good for someone. Jim Steinman sounds rather uninspired and out of it here, and the band just aren’t as tight as the earlier shows. This was the first show of the final leg of the tour, and it shows. Todd Rundgren joins in during More Than You Deserve, with an overture of the song mixed with an instrumental version of Todd’s classic Just One Victory! There is also a rare performance of Nocturnal Pleasure / Heaven Can Wait, which was only performed on this leg of the tour. All in all, it’s not the best, but it’s something. The audio is fine, nothing too special, standard dry soundboard. Really, I can’t give this much more than a 3 out of 5.


SEVERAL SHOWS FROM 1977-1978 - THE BAT OUT OF HELL TOUR COMPILATION









CD 1:

1. Great Boleros Of Fire (Nassau Coliseum 1978)

2. Bat Out Of Hell (Bottom Line Late Show 1977)

3. Hot Summer Night (My Father’s Place 1977)

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Bottom Line Late Show 1977)

5. For Crying Out Loud (Bottom Line Early Show 1977)

6. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Jam / Introduction) (Offenbach 1978)

7. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Main Song) (Bottom Line Late Show 1977)


CD 2:

1. Wasted Youth (Hammersmith Odeon 1978)

2. The Blood - All Revved Up With No Place To Go (Bottom Line Late Show 1977)

3. Band Introductions (Offenbach 1978)

4. Johnny B. Goode (Offenbach 1978)

5. Talk With Audience (Bottom Line Late Show 1977)

6. River Deep, Mountain High (Bottom Line Late Show 1977)

7. Nocturnal Pleasure (Nassau Coliseum 1978)

8. Heaven Can Wait (Nassau Coliseum 1978)

9. Jim Steinman Talks With Audience (Nassau Coliseum 1978)

10. More Than You Deserve (Nassau Coliseum 1978)

11. Just One Victory (Nassau Coliseum 1978)

12. Johnny B. Goode (Reprise) (Offenbach 1978)

13. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad (Bottom Line Late Show 1977)

14. All Revved Up (Reprise) (Offenbach 1978)


Audio - 9.5/10

Performance - 9.5/10


In May 2020, I made a compilation of The Bat Out Of Hell Tour. I used the best available sources in terms of performances and sound. The result was this, a brilliant 2 CD bootleg, featuring the best of the best from the Bat World Tour! Since it’s a compilation of lots of different shows the audio varies, but I blended it together quite nicely, and made sure the transitions between songs were smooth, the audio is generally very high quality, which is why it gets a 9.5, the same goes for the performances, everything here is really well done, the only performance that’s a bit too rough would be Heaven Can Wait, but it was only done on the last leg, so there is no better version of it. Overall, this is a must have package of Meat’s early days, and if you need a long bootleg from this tour, I highly suggest this one. A very well-deserved 5 out of 5 indeed!


FEBRUARY 16TH, 1979 - NEW YORK PALLADIUM, NEW YORK, NY, USA








1. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

2. Johnny B. Goode


Audio - 10/10

Performance - 7/10


In February 1979 Todd Rundgren set up a charitable show at the New York Palladium for Indochinese Boat People, Meat was a guest, and performed during Utopia’s set, breaking in with a 2-song set, Karla DeVito and Rory Dodd joined Meat in the venture. Meat Loaf sounds quite good here, better than the Nassau show, and the mix makes it, so Rory is practically duetting with Meat, making this a treat! Rory sounds awesome, Karla is nice and high in the mix, Utopia are obviously brilliant, they are Utopia at the end of the day, and the overall sound is perfect, had this been longer, it’d get a brilliant rating, but being 2 songs, it can’t get more than 4 out of 5.


DECEMBER 19TH, 1981 - ROCK POP FESTIVAL, DORTMUND, GERMANY








1. Come In The Night (Medley)

2. Wasted Youth

3. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Dead Ringer For Love

5. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

6. All Revved Up (Reprise)

7. Bat Out Of Hell

8. Gimme Shelter


Audio - 9/10

Performance -3/10


This is a strange one... The Rock Pop Festivals were remembered for brilliant performances but unfortunately Meat Loaf's appearance on the 1981 festival was remembered for something else... From the period of 1978-1986 Meat struggled with drug and alcohol use. Meat was pretty drugged up at this show and it definitely comes through with his performance, we get a brilliant start from Ted Neeley and the band, but it goes to shit as soon as Meat start's, his voice is not there, he slurs and screams the words, Pamela Moore sounds tired, Davey Johnstone sounds bored at point, the saving graces are Terry Williams and Steve Buslowe who keep the show alive. It can be entertaining at points, especially Gimme Shelter, it and Come In The Night are the 2 gems from this show. I can't rate it very high with such bad performances, the audio is really good, as it's sourced from TV, had it been a longer show and with a better band performance it would have got 2, as it stands, 1 out of 5.



APRIL 29TH, 1982 - WEMBLEY ARENA, LONDON, ENGLAND, UK

1. Bat Out Of Hell 

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

3. Dead Ringer For Love

4. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

5. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

6. The Promised Land

7. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

8. All Revved Up (Reprise)


Audio - 8/10

Performance - 6/10


This is a compilation of a single rip and VHS rip. The Wembley 1982 show was recorded for TV in 1982, with a slightly extended version (including You Took The Words & All Revved Up) was released for VHS in 1985, with several re-releases in 1991. Most of this show is ripped from a 1991 VHS, with track one being from a 1983 vinyl, and the full version of the song, which isn’t on the VHS. So, this is longer than the VHS release. The performances are great, the sound is pretty good, it varies, with Bat having the best sound and the rest of the show being good enough. Strangely I prefer this show as a CD, rather than a VHS or DVD, it could be the length, I’m not the biggest fan of short video bootlegs. Meat isn’t at his best here, but definitely isn’t at his worse, it’s nice to have some soundboard material from the European tour of 1982. If it was complete, it’d get a higher mark, but since there is a better bootleg from this tour, and Meat is just above average and it’s quite short, this sadly only gets a (3.3) out of 5.


MAY 9TH, 1982 - SCANDINAVIUM, GOTHENBURG, SWEDEN









CD 1:

1. Come In The Night (Medley)

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. Hot Summer Night

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

5. Dead Ringer For Love

6. Read Em’ And Weep

7. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

8. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us (Tape Switch)


CD 2:

1. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

2. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

3. The Promised Land

4. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

5. All Revved Up (Reprise)

6. Encore Wait

7. Gimme Shelter


Audio - 6/10

Performance - 6/10


This is a remaster of the original source that had awful sped up and thin audio, I thickened the audio up, pitch corrected and speed corrected to get this remaster, it still has a lot of flaws, the audio jumped from a 3 to a 6, but it's not perfect, and there are frequent clicks and tape issues, but that's to be expected of something taped nearly 40 years ago on cassette. The concert itself is nothing special, it's just the fact we now have a somewhat decent sounding bootleg from this tour in its entirety. Meat is just above average here, so this wouldn't get very much if there were any other shows from this tour, but due to its rarity this manages a 4 out of 5.


SEPTEMBER 1ST, 1983 - ROLLING STONE THEATER, MILAN, ITALY








CD 1:

1. Bat Out Of Hell

2. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

3. Razor’s Edge

4. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

5. Dead Ringer For Love

6. Midnight At The Lost And Found


CD 2:

1. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

2. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

3. The Promised Land

4. Gimme Shelter


This is an awesome bootleg, Meat's best performance from this early 1980's era, before Bad Attitude. The audio is brilliant for an audience recording of the time, great HD transfer by Wario Loaf. It sounds like it was recorded yesterday, the tape is in brilliant shape. The band are playing really well, and we have for the first time the brilliant Bob Kulick! This is from one of the first shows of the European 1983 leg of the tour, we unfortunately have no recordings of the American leg. This one is one of the best audience recordings of Meat Loaf, and his best performance from this era, very impressive for this tour, considering Meat Loaf's health state at the time, this is too good! 5 out of 5!


SEPTEMBER 24TH, 1983 - WEMBLEY ARENA, LONDON, ENGLAND, UK








1. Bat Out Of Hell (Better Audio)

2. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us (Better to Lesser Audio)

3. Midnight At The Lost And Found (Better Audio)

4. All Revved Up With No Place To Go (Lesser Audio)

5. Razor’s Edge (Lesser Audio)

6. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad (Lesser Audio)


Audio - 9/10 (Better Audio) 7.5/10 (Lesser Audio)

Performance - 7/10


This is an FM broadcast of Meat Loaf’s show from Wembley Arena during the 1983 World Tour. Meat is in good shape here, and the band sound fine, especially Bob Kulick! It’s only six tracks, of varying quality, it’s enjoyable but sadly cut short. It’s still a very nice bootleg, as short as it is, even with the low-quality parts. Overall, it gets a 4 out of 5.


SEPTEMBER 28TH, 1983 - GLASGOW APOLLO, GLASGOW, SCOTLAND, UK








CD 1:

1. We Will Rock You - Bat Out Of Hell

2. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

3. Razor’s Edge

4. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

5. Dead Ringer For Love

6. Midnight At The Lost And Found

7. Paradise By The Dashboard Light


CD 2:

1. Band Introductions

2. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

3. The Promised Land - Audience Interaction

4. Gimme Shelter


Audio - 7/10

Performance - 6/10


This is another great bootleg, unfortunately my file is really small so doesn't sound as good as other versions, the audio is brilliant for an audience recording of the time, the only reason it gets a 7 is because of my file being so small and the audio being only 96kbps :(, if anyone has a higher quality version I'd love to have it! The band are performing very well but Meat seems very tired, which makes a lot of sense, as it was one of the last concerts of the tour, only 2 days before the end of the tour. Overall, the performance is just above average. I'd give this one so much more if I had a better file, but due to that my copy has to get just a 3 out of 5. 


DECEMBER 3RD, 1984 - HAMMERSMITH ODEON, LONDON, ENGLAND, UK








CD 1:

1. Bad Attitude

2. Dead Ringer For Love

3. Jumping The Gun

4. Midnight At The Lost And Found

5. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

6. Paradise By The Dashboard Light


CD 2:

1. Nowhere Fast

2. Tribute To Wells Kelly - Piece Of The Action

3. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Modern Girl

5. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

6. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 9/10


This is a must have for any Meat Loaf collector, it's from the Hammersmith Odeon in December 1984, it's an audience recording, and one of the best sounding audience recordings you'll ever hear. The file is great quality as well, the performance is brilliant, one of the best from this tour, and the band are playing brilliantly. Very touching tribute to the late drummer Wells Kelly just before Piece Of The Action. If you don't have this, please, get it. Must have 5 out of 5!


DECEMBER 13TH, 1984 - STADTHALLE, OFFENBACH, GERMANY 








CD 1:

1. Bad Attitude

2. Dead Ringer For Love

3. Jumping The Gun

4. Midnight At The Lost And Found

5. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

6. Paradise By The Dashboard Light


CD 2:

1. Nowhere Fast

2. Tribute To Wells Kelly - Piece Of The Action

3. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Modern Girl

5. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

6. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 7/10

Performance - 9/10


This is another great bootleg, Meat sounds just as good as Hammersmith, it's again an audience recording, the sound isn't as brilliant but is still good for an audience recording of the time and is very much listenable. Meat seems to be having a lot of fun, the band are playing very tightly, Andy Wells really shines here, and again there is a very touching tribute to Wells Kelly. Overall, this is just a great Meat Loaf bootleg, a solid 4 out of 5. I highly recommend any collector should have this, awesome cover by Wario Loaf by way! 


DECEMBER 19TH, 1984 - GLASGOW APOLLO, GLASGOW, SCOTLAND, UK








CD 1:

1. Bad Attitude (Incomplete)

2. Dead Ringer For Love

3. Dead Ringer For Love (Ending)

4. Jumping The Gun

5. Midnight At The Lost And Found

6. I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

7. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

8. Nowhere Fast


CD 2:

1. Tribute To Wells Kelly - Piece Of The Action

2. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

3. Modern Girl

4. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

5. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 6/10

Performance - 8/10


This is a very charming little bootleg, a nice show from the Glasgow Apollo on December 19th, 1984, it is incomplete by about 3 minutes, Bad Attitude fades in, but it's always a treat to get a good length show from this tour. The audio isn't as good as Offenbach, but is still above average for an audience recording, it's a very consistent audio, bit thick. The band are playing really well here, and it's another great show for Meat, his vocals aren't as good as Hammersmith, but they're still very good, they sound to be having a lot of fun here as well, the audience seem very into it. Awesome version of Piece Of The Action on this bootleg, maybe the best from the tour, again with the touching tribute to Wells Kelly. Definitely give this one a listen if you like 1980's Meat, this one has to get another 4 out of 5. 


JANUARY 20TH, 1985 - EDINBURGH PLAYHOUSE, EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND, UK








CD 1:

1. Bad Attitude

2. Dead Ringer For Love

3. Jumping The Gun

4. Midnight At The Lost And Found

5. I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us (Tape Flip)

6. I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us (Continued)

7. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

8. Nowhere Fast

9. Piece Of The Action

10. All Revved Up With No Place To Go


CD 2:

1. Modern Girl

2. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

3. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 7/10

Performance - 7/10


Here's another great bootleg, this tour was just so good. The audio is comparable to Glasgow, it's very listenable, Meat isn't as good as the other shows but still giving it his all, the band are playing very well also. It's cool to see a 1985 version of I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us, they didn't play it that much that year. And it's awesome to have another full show from this tour, I really hope more audience shows from this tour surface, as it's definitely one of Meat's best. Since it's not as good as the other shows but still enjoyable I can't really give it a 4, so it gets a 3 out of 5.


FEBRUARY 22ND, 1985 - GLASGOW APOLLO, GLASGOW, SCOTLAND, UK








1. Jumping The Gun (Fades In)

2. Midnight At The Lost And Found

3. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

4. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Fades Out)

5. British TV Interview (Bonus Track)


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 9/10


This is a brilliant boot, it's such a shame it's so short. The audio is comparable to Hammersmith, really nice audio, Meat is on fire here, it is one day before the legendary Brixton gig where they filmed Bad Attitude Live, so that explains that. I can't give a 25-minute bootleg that high a score, if we had the whole thing it'd be a 5, but as it is, I have to give it a 4, it's too good to be this short…


FEBRUARY 23RD, 1985 - BRIXTON ACADEMY, LONDON, ENGLAND, UK








CD 1:

1. Bad Attitude

2. Dead Ringer For Love

3. Jumping The Gun

4. Midnight At The Lost And Found

5. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

6. Nowhere Fast


CD 2:

1. Piece Of The Action

2. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

3. Modern Girl

4. Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

5. Bat Out Of Hell

6. I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us (Bonus Track)


There are way too many versions of this concert but let’s clear some things up. Live At The Bottom Line 1985, both the February 6th and June 2nd (date formatting error) are actually the Brixton gig, and the "Boston Broadcast" is not a broadcast and is from this concert also. I use a best source mix of the VHS and the so-called Boston version.


Audio - 10/10

Performance - 9/10


On February 23rd, 1985 Meat Loaf played a show at the Brixton Academy in London, England for a BBC Broadcast, and an eventual VHS release. The VHS was released later in 1985 but in poor quality, luckily people did rip the TV broadcast and on MLConcert's YouTube channel you can watch a remaster from the broadcast. This audio bootleg is a combination of the original VHS rip with a remastered CD. As such, the audio is brilliant, slightly hissy when it's using the VHS rip, but that's only for a few of the songs, most are from the Remastered CD which sounds incredible. The audio definitely gets an A+. Now, on to the band. Andy Wells is playing absolutely brilliantly here, as well as Bob Kulick, Paul Jacobs is playing very well and John Golden is doing his thing as he always did. Kati Mac sounds great, Doreen Chanter sounds as raspy as ever and Meat Loaf sounds on point here, one of his best ever concerts in my opinion. With brilliant audio, a brilliant performance, this has to get a 5 out of 5.


JUNE 22ND, 1985 - KNEBWORTH FESTIVAL, KNEBWORTH PARK, KNEBWORTH, ENGLAND, UK








1. Bad Attitude

2. Dead Ringer For Love

3. Midnight At The Lost And Found

4. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

5. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

6. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 5/10


This is a weird one. It's from late into the tour, after the main part of the tour, this is part of the "festival leg", the short part at the end of the tour where Meat went around playing festivals. The audio is pretty good, it seems to be sourced from a tape recording of a radio broadcast, and it shows. It seems like a 3rd or 4th generation, and the tape is definitely playing show. Meat Loaf just doesn't sound very good here, his vocals are nowhere near as good as they were on the earlier parts of this tour, he seems very tired here. Although it is worth noting he'd recently broken his leg, the week prior in Australia. The band are playing alright, but even they seem pretty tired, they had been touring for over 3 quarters of a year, so can you blame them? With only 6 songs, a tired Meat, a sloppy band and almost perfect audio, this gets a 3 out of 5.


JUNE 29TH, 1985 - MAIMARKTGELANDE, MANNHEIM, GERMANY








1. Bad Attitude

2. Dead Ringer For Love

3. Midnight At The Lost And Found

4. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

5. Nowhere Fast

6. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

7. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 7/10

Performance - 6/10


If you want a bootleg from the later part of the Bad Attitude tour, this is your bootleg. It's a fun short little setlist, given it was for a festival this is to be expected. Meat sounds a lot better than at Knebworth, still not anywhere close to his performances from the start of the tour but it's above average, they seem to be having a lot of fun at this show, the band also sound a lot less tired than at Knebworth, this show has a great vocal performance from Doreen Chanter. The audio is really good, it seems a bit in your face at first, but if you turn it down a smidge it is very consistent and easy to listen to. As a side note, there's a really cool intro to Midnight At The Lost And Found. Overall, this is quite a cool bootleg, and for 80's Meat Loaf fan's it's a nice one to have, it's a decent Meat Loaf with great sound in 1985, so it just manages to get a 4 out of 5. 


FEBRUARY 10TH, 1987 - LONDON MELTDOWN @ ITV STUDIOS








1. Blind Before I Stop

2. Masculine

3. Rock 'N' Roll Mercenaries

4. Execution Day

5. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

6. Dead Ringer For Love

7. Modern Girl

8. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 8.5/10


In February 1987 Meat was starting off his next world tour, as a little promo he went on ITV'S London Meltdown show and performed 8 songs in a studio with an audience. This CD is an audio rip of a VHS recorded of the show from TV. And it sounds brilliant, the audio could be better but sounds fine for what it is, slightly shallow but not that bad, all in all brilliant audio. To the band, everyone plays brilliantly here, Chuck and Bob are the big stars of this show, they sound very good on this CD, lest we forget Meat's brilliant performance here, it has some ups and downs but is generally great, and my god Bat Out Of Hell rocks your socks! All in all this is a great little CD, works better as a DVD, but this gets a 4 out of 5, due to its length , nonetheless it's pretty awesome!


FEBRUARY 13TH, 1987 - CORNWALL COLISEUM, CORNWALL, ENGLAND, UK









1. Dead Ringer For Love

2. Paradise By The Dashboard Light


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 9/10


These tracks were released as the B-Sides to the Special Girl single, since they were professionally recorded they sound great, they're from the first date of the tour, and Meat sounds impressively on point here, this is the earliest proper show we have with Alan Merrill and his playing on Dead Ringer is very nice for a first show. It's really awesome, sad that it's only 2 tracks, because it's a great show. Due to the great content but short length this one manages a 3 out of 5.


FEBRUARY 24TH, 1987 - NEWCASTLE CITY HALL, NEWCASTLE, ENGLAND, UK








CD 1:

1. Execution Day

2. Blind Before I Stop

3. Masculine

4. Rock 'N' Roll Mercenaries

5. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

6. Dead Ringer For Love

7. Burning Down

8. Midnight At The Lost And Found

9. All Revved Up With No Place To Go


CD 2:

1. Modern Girl

2. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

3. Band Introductions

4. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

5. Bat Out Of Hell

6. The Rock Medley


Audio - 7/10

Performance - 9/10


This is a brilliant bootleg, its again a WarioLoaf boot, it is from a great show at the Newcastle City Hall on February 24th, 1987, it is the whole show. What's so special here is that we have a full show from early in the tour when Burning Down was still in the set, and a live version of that song is most definitely a treat. Meat is a treat here, one of his best vocal performances from the era, not the best, but not far from it, the audio takes a bit of time to get used to but once you do it sounds very fine. The band are playing really well and honestly if you want a show from this tour, this one is a must. For all collectors of Meat Loaf, this is a must have bootleg, with all the epicness it holds within, this would get a 5, had there not been better performances from this era, this gets a very well deserved 4 out of 5 stars.


FEBRUARY 26TH 1987 - SHEFFIELD CITY HALL, SHEFFIELD, ENGLAND, UK









CD 1:

1. Execution Day

2. Blind Before I Stop

3. Masculine

4. Rock 'N' Roll Mercenaries

5. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

6. Dead Ringer For Love

7. Burning Down

8. Midnight At The Lost And Found

9. Louie, Louie

10. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

11. Modern Girl


CD 2:

1. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

2. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

3. Bat Out Of Hell

4. The Rock Medley


Audio - 6/10

Performance - 9/10


This is an audio rip of a VHS tape. A full VHS tape! Which is remarkable, this is the earliest full audience video show we have, it's in great condition for it's age, but away from the video, let's talk about the CD. Meat sounds just as good as he did in Newcastle, which makes sense since this was two days after the Newcastle show. So, Meat sounds brilliant, really awesome, the band are playing awesome, there are some hilarious gags throughout the show, the only let down is the audio, it's not as good as Newcastle's audio but is above average and definitely enjoyable. All in all, a whole show from this tour with this Meat has to get a 4 out of 5 minimum, so... 4 out of 5!


MARCH 20TH, 1987 - PHILIPSHALLE, DUSSELDORF, GERMANY








CD 1:

1. Execution Day

2. Blind Before I Stop

3. Masculine

4. Rock 'N' Roll Mercenaries

5. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

6. Dead Ringer For Love

7. Midnight At The Lost And Found

8. Special Girl

9. Louie, Louie

10. All Revved Up With No Place To Go


CD 2:

1. Modern Girl

2. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

3. Band Introductions

4. Bat Out Of Hell

5. The Rock Medley


Audio - 6/10

Performance - 8.5/10


This is a nice bootleg. It's a concert from March 1987, although some sources will claim it to be from July, but that is false. Let's start with the positives, Meat Loaf sound really great here, not his best performance from this tour, but it is damn good, the band are playing so nicely here especially Alan Merrill, his guitar work at this show is astounding in some parts. Chuck Burgi is playing very well also. We also have a live version of Special Girl which is very nice to here, the cover reports a live version of Burning Down as well, but that is false. Unfortunately this bootleg falls when it comes to the audio, it's enjoyable but very thick and bass heavy, if you listen to it enough you can get used to it but for most fans there is a better show both in terms of performance and audio from this same month of the tour. Due to all of this, this bootleg would get a strong 4, but the audio does let it down quite a bit. So it just falls down to a 3 out of 5, if you are a big fan, I would recommend it, mostly due to Execution Day, what a performance!


MARCH 26TH, 1987 - BIRMINGHAM ODEON, BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND, UK










CD 1:

1. Execution Day

2. Blind Before I Stop

3. Masculine

4. Rock 'N' Roll Mercenaries

5. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

6. Dead Ringer For Love

7. Midnight At The Lost And Found

8. Special Girl

9. Louie, Louie - All Revved Up With No Place To Go


CD 2:

1. Modern Girl

2. Band Introductions

3. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

4. Bat Out Of Hell

5. The Rock Medley


Audio - 8.5/10

Performance - 9/10


On March 26th, 1987 Meat Loaf played the Birmingham Odeon, and what a gig he played. To start, Meat sounds brilliant here, comparable to how he sounds in the Newcastle bootleg, the band sound perfect, and the audio is brilliant for an audience recording of the time. It seems my bootleg is sourced from 2 copies of the same recording, because the first track is actually a lower quality file and seems to be higher generation than the rest of the show, that aside the audio alone gets a 5-star rating. We also have a brilliant performance of Special Girl here, all in all this bootleg is a must have, if you want the two best full shows from this tour, get Newcastle and Birmingham. Personally, I really dig this bootleg, it's my favourite from the tour, this gets a very well deserved 5 out of 5 from me!


JULY 19TH, 1987 - OUT IN THE GREEN, ODENWALDRING, BABENHAUSEN, GERMANY









1. Blind Before I Stop

2. Masculine

3. Rock 'N' Roll Mercenaries

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

5. Midnight At The Lost And Found

6. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

7. Bat Out Of Hell

8. The Rock Medley


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 8.5/10


This is a bootleg from the beginning of the festival leg of 1987, it's a tragedy we don't have a bootleg from the middle of it, when Bad For Good and Frying Pan were added to the set. Anyway, this is a very fun show. Meat Loaf sounds really good here and the crowd are really loving, the band are playing very nicely and the audio is so good, the first song starts off really distorted but shortly after it adjusts and is balanced really nice, I have a hunch this is remastered. Sadly, as it was part of the festival leg it’s a short show, it's very enjoyable, nice and quick little bootleg, it gets a well-rounded 4 out of 5.


FEBRUARY 19TH, 1988 - THE CHANCE, NEW YORK, NY, USA








1. Blind Before I Stop

2. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Masculine

5. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

6. Bad For Good

7. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

8. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad


Audio - 5/10

Performance - 8/10


This is quite a cool bootleg, it's from the first leg of the Lost Boys tour, before the Hook outfit and 3-hour set came into use in the European leg. To start with, the sound is average, perfectly listenable but nothing special, however Meat is sounding very lovely here, we also have an extended version of Blind Before I Stop which is nice to hear, especially from this tour. Anyway, all in all this is an alright bootleg, short setlist, great performance, average audio. Due to the audio and shortness it loses a point, had this been from the European leg it'd get a 4, but as this is short, this gets a 3 out of 5.


MARCH 14TH, 1988 - EDINBURGH PLAYHOUSE, EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND, UK








CD 1:

1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire) (Fades In)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

4. Come In The Night (Medley)

5. Original Sin (Opening) - Bad For Good

6. Confess (Speech) - Modern Girl

7. Fun (Speech) - Who Needs The Young? (Speech) - Dance In My Pants

8. Peel Out (Instrumental Opening) - I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us


CD 2:

1. Lost Boys And Golden Girls

2. Bat Out Of Hell (Intro + Main Song)

3. Bat Out Of Hell (Solo + Ending)

4. Audience Interaction

5. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

6. Dead Ringer For Love

7. Midnight At The Lost And Found

8. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Intro + Main Song)

9. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Play-By-Play + Middle + Ending)

10. The Rock Medley


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 10/10


Jeez, this tour! In March of 1988 Meat Loaf played the Edinburgh Playhouse, and what a show he played! This is most definitely a contender for Meat Loaf's greatest ever show, his voice is incredible, and he manages to keep it up for almost 3 hours! It has the amazing Alan Merrill performing guitar and vocals throughout including his solo song Come In The Night, Bob Kulick is playing beautifully, all in all the band are amazing. This European part of the tour is a treat, we get early versions of loads of soon to be classics, including the Goff sisters singing an abridged version of Original Sin, an instrumental live version of Peel Out!!!, and one of the best Rock Medley's ever performed. Please, do yourself a favour, and get this show. 5 out of 5!!!


MARCH 20TH, 1988 - BIRMINGHAM NEC, BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND, UK








CD 1:

1. Mad Man Escapes (Speech)

2. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

3. Masculine

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

5. Come In The Night (Medley)

6. Original Sin (Opening) - Bad For Good - Confess (Speech)

7. Modern Girl

8. Dance In My Pants (No Speech)


CD 2:

1. Peel Out - Come In The Night (Reprise)

2. I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

3. Lost Boys And Golden Girls

4. Bat Out Of Hell

5. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

6. Dead Ringer For Love

7. Midnight At The Lost And Found


CD 3:

1. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

2. The Rock Medley


Audio - 9.5/10

Performance - 9.5/10


This is another awesome bootleg, it's almost the full show from Birmingham in 1988, including most of the speeches, it sadly missed some of the transitions between songs but is practically full. Meat again sounds brilliant here, not as good as he did in Edinburgh but still absolutely brilliant! The audio is better than Edinburgh, it's amazing audio coming from an audience recording in 1988! The band sound very nice here, and the length and full audio add to this bootleg so much, it's one of the longest circulating bootlegs, with cassettes being pressed as early as 1989 of the show! This digital version sourced from Chris is damn good! If you are a Meat Loaf fan of any shape, listen to this one! Definitely a 5 out of 5!


MARCH 29TH, 1988 - HAMMERSMITH ODEON, LONDON, ENGLAND, UK








CD 1:

1. Mad Man Escapes (Speech)

2. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

3. Masculine

4. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

5. Come In The Night (Medley)

6. Original Sin

7. Bad For Good - Confess (Speech)

8. Modern Girl

9. Fun (Speech) - Who Needs The Young? (Speech) - Dance In My Pants


CD 2:

1. I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

2. Lost Boys And Golden Girls

3. Bat Out Of Hell

4. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

5. Dead Ringer For Love


CD 3:

1. Midnight At The Lost And Found

2. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

3. The Rock Medley


Audio - 6.5/10

Performance - 9.5/10


Jeez, this tour has great bootlegs! It's not as good as the other 2 from the European leg, but still damn nice. The audio is the big let-down, it's perfectly listenable and pretty alright but nowhere near as nice as the Edinburgh or Birmingham audio. The performances are awesome here, which is kind of to be expected from this tour :), if you have the other two you may as well get this one, but if you need a brilliant bootleg from this tour, I'd still recommend Edinburgh over this. All in all, a nice bootleg that gets a deserved 4 out of 5 stars.


APRIL 15TH, 1988 - KURHALLE OBERLAA, VIENNA, AUSTRIA








1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Come In The Night (Medley) - Original Sin - Bullshit (Speech) - Bad For Good

5. Modern Girl

6. Fun (Speech) - Who Needs The Young? (Speech) - Dance In My Pants - Come In The Night (Reprise)

7. I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us

8. Lost Boys And Golden Girls


Audio - 8.5/10

Performance - 9/10


This is an audio conversion of a VHS tape, done by Ad. The audio sounds really good, brilliant audience recording, not as good as but comparable to Birmingham. It's more than enjoyable in that department. The track listing is great, this leg of the tour had brilliant songs, the cover reports less songs then there really are, it's longer than you'd think it would be. It clocks in at about 90 minutes, it's incomplete, but still a reasonable length. Meat again sounds so damn good, this tour was a blessing for his voice. All in all, a very nice bootleg, there are some better ones from this tour though so this gets a very nice 4 out of 5!


DECEMBER 16TH, 1988 - BARRYMORE’S MUSIC HALL, OTTAWA, CANADA








1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Rock 'N' Roll Mercenaries

5. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

6. Midnight At The Lost And Found

7. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

8. Bat Out Of Hell

9. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

10. The Rock Medley


Audio - 7/10

Performance - 9.5/10


This tour just has so many awesome shows! This is from the final part of the tour, after the end of the US shows, Meat Loaf played a one off show in Canada in December, many bootlegs mislabel this show as Oshawa while it is in fact from Ottawa, the Oshawa gig had a different setlist and was in May, from the early part of the third leg. Anyway, Meat Loaf sounds brilliant here, he was on fire during this tour, I honestly think this is one of his best vocal tours! The audio on this bootleg initially doesn't sound too good, but once you get used to it it's quite good, Meat's vocals and all the instruments are very clear. This is a special bootleg as it's the last ever show Alan Merrill, Dominic Cicchetti and Bob Kulick, which makes this a treat for collectors, it also has a live version of Rock 'N' Roll Mercenaries, which is quite rare from this tour. All in all, a nice bootleg, and as such it gets a 4 out of 5.


FEBRUARY 17TH, 1989 - KATINA’S NIGHT CLUB, HADLEY, MA, USA








1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Dead Ringer For Love

5. Midnight At The Lost And Found

6. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

7. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

8. The Rock Medley


Audio - 9.5/10

Performance - 8.5/10


This is a great show! The first bootleg from the Pubs 'N' Clubs era has some damn nice sound, very impressive sound for an audience recording of the time, this is one of the nicest sounding audience I've heard from the 80's, very clear sound. Meat sounds great here, he's had better shows, but no complaints, and the band also sound really good here especially with the awesome Dave Gellis leading the band! There are better shows from this tour, but this one is still really nice, unfortunately it's one of the shorter shows from the tour and doesn't even include Bat! So, it drops down to a 4 out of 5.


MARCH 21ST, 1989 - THE BAYOU, WASHINGTON, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, USA








CD 1:

1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire) (Incomplete)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Dead Ringer For Love

5. Midnight At The Lost And Found

6. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

7. Heaven Can Wait

8. Bat Out Of Hell


CD 2:

1. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

2. The Rock Medley


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 9/10


This era was a treat! Meat sounds very great here, as do the Goff sisters, the band are playing really well with some killer bass from Buslowe. The audio is very clear and consistent, very impressive for the time! It's the whole show (almost), and has a live version of Heaven Can Wait which is another treat, this is in my opinion a brilliant bootleg from this year, not the best 1989 bootleg, but damn close, and as a result this can only get a 5 out of 5!


MAY 7TH, 1989 - BERGEN COMMUNITY COLLEGE, PARAMUS, NJ, USA








CD 1:

1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Dead Ringer For Love

5. Midnight At The Lost And Found

6. All Revved Up With No Place To Go


CD 2:

1. Heaven Can Wait

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

4. The Rock Medley


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 9.5/10


This bootleg is one of my favourites! It's a very enjoyable show from May 1989 at Bergen Community College, to start with, the audio on this bootleg is fantastic, comparable in quality to the Bayou gig but just slightly crisper, and the performance is where it really lies. It's comparable in many parts to the Birmingham show, Meat is on fire here! This truly is one of Meat's best shows, in the best quality, and it's the full damn thing. Please get this one! Do yourself a favour, find it on YouTube, find a download, I don't care, just get it! There's no other score for this one except 5 out of 5!


MAY 13TH, 1989 - BONT DE WEVER, SLAGHAREN, NETHERLANDS








CD 1:

1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Dead Ringer For Love

5. Midnight At The Lost And Found

6. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

7. Heaven Can Wait


CD 2:

1. Bat Out Of Hell

2. Encore Wait

3. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

4. The Rock Medley


Audio - 8.5/10

Performance - 9/10


Another awesome show from the big M! This one is from Slagharen in 1989, there is a video registration of this show, but the audio from that is actually worse than the audio from the audience recording, it's a very sloppy soundboard, the video itself is alright, but isn't the full show, it comes in halfway through track 2, misses out half of track 4, the start of track 5, and the end of track 11. Anyway, Meat Loaf sounds awesome here, this tour was brilliant for his voice, I think it was the energy he got from the small crowds that did it, but whatever did it, it was incredible! This also includes what could be the best ever performance of All Revved Up! The audio is really nice here, takes a while to get used to, but once you do it sounds fine. Honestly, this is just a great show, there are better, but you can't go too wrong here, well deserved 4!


SEPTEMBER 4TH, 1989, THE FORGE, VICTORIA, CANADA








CD 1:

1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Dead Ringer For Love


CD 2:

1. Midnight At The Lost And Found

2. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

3. Heaven Can Wait

4. Bat Out Of Hell

5. Paradise By The Dashboard Light


Audio - 6.5/10

Performance - 8.5/10


This bootleg is from later in the year, it has the same set list of all the other shows minus The Rock Medley, which is either missing or wasn't played. Either way this does seem like the whole show. The quality of this bootleg is very listenable and above average for an audience recording, but not the greatest from this tour. The performance is also very fun, and it's an enjoyable concert, but not as awesome as some of the other shows from this tour. All in all, a very fun show from 1989, not the best from this year but definitely enjoyable :), this gets a 4 out of 5.


SEPTEMBER 1989 - TORONTO, CANADA








1. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

2. Dead Ringer For Love

3. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

5. Bat Out Of Hell

6. The Rock Medley


Audio - 8/10

Performance - 9/10


The exact date of this show in unknown but the show is from September 1989 in Toronto, probably in the same week as the show from The Forge. This show is a speciality in that it includes Two Out Of Three, which wasn't performed often in 1989. This is a strange one, because at first the audio isn't very nice but after a minute or two you get used to it, while it's quite thick and foggy the audio has very definitive instrument mixes, the vocals are clear, you can make out all the backing vocals and it's very consistently recorded, so I must say this audio is quite nice! Meat sounds great here, this is a really fun show, it's a shame it's incomplete, it's missing the intro and Paradise. Had this been complete, it would get a solid 4 but sadly since it only has 6 tracks this drops down to a 3 out of 5.


SEPTEMBER 18TH, 1990 - DILLINGEN OPEN AIR, PARKSTADION, DILLINGEN, GERMANY








1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Midnight At The Lost And Found

5. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

6. Bat Out Of Hell

7. Paradise By The Dashboard Light


Audio - 8.5/10

Performance - 8.5/10


This is the first show from 1990 we have on record, although the cover mistakes it as being from 1989. Meat sounds great here, as expected from this era, not as good as Slagharen or Toronto but damn good! The audio on this is also very awesome, great consistency, a bit wide and open, but it was recorded at an open-air festival so that does make sense. Not too much to say about this show, except it uses a shortened setlist because of the whole festival thing, this gets a 4 out of 5!


SEPTEMBER 19TH, 1990 - KNICKERBOCKER ARENA, ALBANY, NY, USA








1. Masculine

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. Midnight At The Lost And Found

4. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

5. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 9.5/10

Performance - 8/10


This is a rare bootleg, and a great bootleg. The audio is incredible on here, it's audience but FLAC,  and a first generation tape rip and it shows, the audio is really great, even better than the Bergen audio, Meat and the band seem to be having a hell of a lot of fun here, there are better performances from this tour, but it's hard to go wrong, this is a very nice bootleg, it's sadly incomplete, I'm pretty sure Frying Pan was recorded but was lost in some way, this gets a 4 out of 5, had it been complete it may have gotten a 5.


OCTOBER 12TH, 1990 - UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN, WISCONSIN, WI, USA








CD 1:

1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire) (Incomplete)

2. Masculine

3. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

4. Midnight At The Lost And Found

5. All Revved Up With No Place To Go (Incomplete)


CD 2:

1. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

2. Bat Out Of Hell

3. Band Introductions

4. Paradise By The Dashboard Light


Audio - 9.5/10

Performance - 8.5/10


This is a really common bootleg, it's a soundboard recording from Meat Loaf's show at the University of Wisconsin, and it's a very sound bootleg. The audio is quite nice, could be better but considering it's just a universities soundboard it's very nice :), Meat Loaf sounds really nice at this show, it's a fun show, I wish it was complete, both Frying Pan and All Revved Up are incomplete, which is a real shame, because All Revved Up sounded like it was going to be really fun. There are better shows from this tour, but this ain't too shabby. A well rounded 4 out of 5 :).


AUGUST 31ST, 1991 - BAD GANDERSHEIM, GERMANY








1. All Revved Up With No Place To Go (Incomplete)

2. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

3. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 5/10

Performance - 7.5/10


This is the hands down worst bootleg from this "tour", it's not bad, it's just not very good either. It's only 3 songs, although a 5-song version does exist (and I really badly want it). Meat sounds good, but not as good as some of the other shows of the tour, although it's hard to judge because you can't hear him very well with the very average audience audio, the mix isn't very good on this bootleg at all, and it really isn't too worth it unless you're quite a diehard collector. If it were full, it'd manage a 3, in this state, I'm sorry but I have to give this bootleg a 2 out of 5, only speciality is being the earliest audience bootleg with John Miceli, with it being his second show, there is full video of his first show, which will be reviewed when all the video bootlegs get reviewed.


SEPTEMBER 8TH, 1991 - UNTERFRANKENHALLE, ASCHAFFENBURG, GERMANY

Warning - This bootleg is sometimes labelled as Boston University, it is not from Boston University, this is a false label. It's a misconception, with them often being presented as 2 completely separate bootlegs, but this is Aschaffenburg.









1. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

5. Bat Out Of Hell

6. Play With Audience / Paradise By The Dashboard Light

7. The Rock Medley


Audio - 8/10

Performance - 9/10


As confusing as this one is, it's still very nice. The audio is great, most things are clear, and you can definitely hear the almighty Dave Gellis on this one. Meat sounds really awesome here, this year was again another great one for his voice. Honestly, whatever version of this bootleg you happen to get, just listen to it, it's a really nice one. I'll probably post this at some point. Since it was a festival show, it only has 7 songs, but they didn't play Masculine which always peeves me a bit, but can you blame them? Festivals are tight. This gets a 4 out of 5.


JULY 1993 - LIVE REHEARSALS IN NEW YORK CITY








1. Bat Out Of Hell

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

3. Heaven Can Wait

4. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

5. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

6. Masculine

7. Rock And Roll Dreams Come Through

8. Everything Louder Than Everything Else


Audio - 10/10

Performance - 8/10


In Summer 1993 Meat Loaf and his newly re-arranged band rehearsed for the upcoming Everything Louder World Tour. These rehearsals were recorded, and used as "live" tracks for singles in 1993 and 1994. The singles added audience noise over the rehearsals to create fake live tracks. This compilation, made by the great Chris Clark, compiles all the b-sides from the rehearsals into one nice package, so here it is, the rehearsal package from July 1993 in New York City! Meat sounds really good here, he was basically on fire the whole of 93'. The audio is basically perfect, it's official production, which explains the perfect audio, the mix is brilliant, Steve is very loud in the mix for once! We also have a great performance of Masculine, and a soundboard Masculine is always a treat, especially with Patti Russo! There are better bootlegs of this tour, and longer ones, if it had even nust 2 or 3 more tracks, it would get a 5. But in this state, it's very decent, I recommend giving it a listen, personally it gets a 4 out of 5 from me!


SEPTEMBER 18TH 1993 - HUDSON THEATRE, NEW YORK, NY, USA








CD 1:

1. I'd Do Anything For Love (But I Won't Do That)

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. Rock And Roll Dreams Come Through

4. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

5. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

6. Life Is A Lemon And I Want My Money Back



CD 2:

1. Heaven Can Wait

2. Objects In The Rear View Mirror May Appear Closer Than They Are

3. Bat Out Of Hell

4. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

5. Wasted Youth

6. Everything Louder Than Everything Else



Audio - 10/10

Performance - 9.5/10



Where do I begin? Meat Loaf began his Everything Louder Tour with some promotional shows at the Hudson Theatre. The show from September 18th was recorded, and has been released through bootlegs enough times to be able to get the full show by combining a few of them. In 2010, Ad who you may know from Meat Loaf Experience decided to go ahead and combine them, he made this mega bootleg. This is one of the best Meat Loaf bootlegs ever made. Meat is sounding so great here, he performs a brilliant setlist, the band sound brilliant, the audio is perfect and JIM STEINMAN is one keyboards! We also get a brilliant rendition of Wasted Youth from Steinman, you n e e d to have this show, no other score suits it, 5 out of 5!


NOVEMBER 26TH 1993 - MAPLE LEAF GARDENS, TORONTO, CANADA








CD 1:

1. I'd Do Anything For Love (But I Won't Do That)

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Rock And Roll Dreams Come Through

5. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

6. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire) / The Storm (Incomplete)


CD 2:

1. Wasted Youth / Life Is A Lemon And I Want My Money Back

2. Heaven Can Wait

3. Objects In The Rear View Mirror May Appear Closer Than They Are

4. Bat Out Of Hell


Audio - 7/10

Performance - 9/10


This is an audio conversion of a video tape from Meat's show in Toronto. Jim Steinman is here again! And this is another winner. It's almost complete, but misses the encore, I inserted the ending of Bat from Brighton to give some continuity. Meat again sounds brilliant, the early shows in this tour were something else! The band play very well, the sound is very listenable and pretty good for a video recording by an audience member, it's a shame it isn't complete, but as it stands, I'd give this a very reasonable 4 out of 5.


DECEMBER 4TH 1993 - CARDIFF ICE RINK, CARDIFF, WALES, UK








CD 1:

1. I'd Do Anything For Love (But I Won't Do That)

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Rock And Roll Dreams Come Through

5. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad - Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire) - Wasted Youth

6. Life Is A Lemon And I Want My Money Back


CD 2:

1. Heaven Can Wait

2. Objects In The Rear View Mirror May Appear Closer Than They Are

3. Bat Out Of Hell

4. Band Introductions

5. Paradise By The Dashboard Light

6. Everything Louder Than Everything Else

7. Dead Ringer For Love


Audio - 10/10

Performance - 10/10


I am in the minority that prefers this over the Hudson show, they both equally kick ass but there's just something about this one, maybe it's because I live in the UK, but still, what a show Meat puts on, at 46 he puts on a show no 30 year old could dare to, what a show, probably the best of the tour, if you don't have this, get it! It's on YouTube, you can probably find a download somewhere, if not, email me! 5 out of 5!


DECEMBER 10TH 1993 - G-MEX CENTRE, MANCHESTER, ENGLAND, UK








1. Neverland Express Introduction - I'd Do Anything For Love (But I Won't Do That)

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Rock And Roll Dreams Come Through

5. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad

6. Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into The Fire)

7. Life Is A Lemon And I Want My Money Back (Incomplete & Corrupted)


Audio - 9/10

Performance - 9.5/10


Sadly this isn't the full show, it does exist but hasn't been circulating for years. To start with, the audio is brilliant, amazing audio for an audience, even being lossy this must be from the master or very low gen. It has a hilarious introduction, making the band out to seem like some new futuristic experience, which at the time was true to some extent. Meat and the band sound absolutely fantastic here, this is such a good show, too bad its incomplete. Had it been complete, 5, as it stands- 4 out of 5.


DECEMBER 15TH 1993 - BRIGHTON CENTER, BRIGHTON, ENGLAND, UK









CD 1:

1. I'd Do Anything For Love (But I Won't Do That)

2. You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night)

3. All Revved Up With No Place To Go

4. Rock And Roll Dreams Come Through



Popular posts from this blog

Welcome to Meat Loaf Bootleg Hub

ANNOUNCEMENT - BAT Experience Tour Video